

COMMUNITY INVESTMENT PROGRAM APPROVAL COMMITTEE (CIPAC) MINUTES

June 3, 2024, 6:00 p.m. Room 206, 2nd Floor, Jubilee Centre 9909 Franklin Avenue, Fort McMurray, AB T9H 2K4

Present: Chantal Beaver, Chair, Public-At-Large

Erica Brewer, Vice-Chair, Public-At-Large

Trudy Cockerill, Social Profit, Rural Organization Representative

Kara Owl, Indigenous Representative Maike Schmieding, Public-At-Large

Liana Wheeldon, Social Profit, Large Organization

Representative (Via MS Teams)

Absent: Michael McQuilter, Oil Sands Industry Representative

Matthew Miniely, Social Profit, Small Organization

Representative

Anna Seinen, External Funding Agency

Also Present: Funky Banjoko, Councillor (Via MS Teams)

Jane Stroud, Councillor (Via MS Teams)
D. Bergey, Director, Community Services

J. Fleury, Department Administrator, Community Services

D. Soucy, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services

S. Syed, Clerk, Legislative Services

1. Call to Order

Chair Chantal Beaver called the meeting to order at 6:06 p.m.

2. Minutes of Previous Meeting

2.1 Community Investment Program Approval Committee - April 17, 2024

MOVER: E. Brewer

SECONDER: M. Schmieding

THAT the Minutes of the Community Investment Program Approval Committee Meeting held on April 17, 2024, be approved as presented.

FOR (6): C. Beaver, E. Brewer, T. Cockerill, K. Owl, M. Schmieding, and L. Wheeldon

ABSENT (3): M. McQuilter, M. Miniely, and A. Seinen

CARRIED (6 to 0)

3. New and Unfinished Business

3.1 Membership term and recruitment

J. Fleury, Community Services noted that most of the committee members' terms expire on December 31, 2024, which may present significant challenges to the continuity of committee business. Additionally, terms ending in December interfere with committee work.

With consensus of the committee, the committee recommended that Administration consider staggering membership terms with adjusted start and end dates to ensure ongoing business continuity.

3.2 Community Investment Program Application and Process Review - final

J. Fleury, Community Services, presented recommended changes to the Community Investment Program Policy FIN-220.

MOVER: M. Schmieding **SECONDER:** E. Brewer

THAT the proposed amendments to the Community Investment Program Policy FIN-220 be recommended to Council for approval; and,

THAT the Chair, on behalf of the Community Investment Program Approval Committee, be authorized to co-present the proposed amendments to the Community Investment Program Policy FIN-220 to Council, alongside Administration.

FOR (6): C. Beaver, E. Brewer, T. Cockerill, K. Owl, M. Schmieding, and L. Wheeldon

ABSENT (3): M. McQuilter, M. Miniely, and A. Seinen

CARRIED (6 to 0)

4. <u>Move into Closed Session</u>

With consensus of the committee, the committee amended the agenda to move into a closed session.

MOVER: E. Brewer

SECONDER: M. Schmieding

THAT the Community Investment Program Approval Committee close item 5.1 to the public pursuant to section 24(1) of the *Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act* and move into a closed session at 7:05 p.m.

FOR (6): C. Beaver, E. Brewer, T. Cockerill, K. Owl, M. Schmieding, and L. Wheeldon

ABSENT (3): M. McQuilter, M. Miniely, and A. Seinen

CARRIED (6 to 0)

5. Closed Session

5.1 5.1 Advice from Officials - Grant reporting

(in camera pursuant to sections 24(1) of the *Freedom of Information and* Protection *of Privacy Act*)

The following persons were in Closed Session to provide information or administrative support for Item 5.1 Grant reporting:

D. Bergey, J. Fleury, Community Services, D. Soucy, S, Syed, Legislative Services.

6. Return to Open Session

MOVER: K. Owl

SECONDER: M. Schmieding

THAT the Community Investment Program Approval Committee move out of the Closed Session at 7:15 p.m.

FOR (6): C. Beaver, E. Brewer, T. Cockerill, K. Owl, M. Schmieding, and L. Wheeldon

ABSENT (3): M. McQuilter, M. Miniely, and A. Seinen

CARRIED (6 to 0)

7. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 7:17 p.m.

	Chair