

COMMUNITY INVESTMENT PROGRAM APPROVAL COMMITTEE (CIPAC) MINUTES

June 19, 2024, 6:00 p.m. Room 1172, 1st Floor, Jubilee Centre 9909 Franklin Avenue, Fort McMurray, AB T9H 2K4

Present:	Chantal Beaver, Chair, Public-At-Large Matthew Miniely, Social Profit, Small Organization Representative Kara Owl, Indigenous Representative Anna Seinen, External Funding Agency Liana Wheeldon, Social Profit, Large Organization Representative
Absent:	Erica Brewer, Public-At-Large Trudy Cockerill, Social Profit, Rural Organization Representative Michael McQuilter, Oil Sands Industry Representative Maike Schmieding, Public-At-Large
Also Present:	Funky Banjoko, Councillor Jane Stroud, Councillor D. Bergey, Director, Community Services J. Fleury, Department Administrator, Community Services S. Syed, Clerk, Legislative Services

1. Call to Order

Chair Chantal Beaver called the meeting to order at 6:01 p.m.

2. Adoption of Agenda

MOVER: K. Owl SECONDER: L. Wheeldon

THAT the Agenda be amended by adding item 4.3 - Meeting Schedule; and

THAT the Agenda be adopted as amended.

FOR (5): C. Beaver, M. Miniely, K. Owl, A. Seinen, and L. Wheeldon ABSENT (4): E. Brewer, T. Cockerill, M. McQuilter, and M. Schmieding

CARRIED (5 to 0)

3. <u>Minutes of Previous Meeting</u>

3.1 Community Investment Program Approval Committee - June 3, 2024

MOVER: K. Owl SECONDER: L. Wheeldon

THAT the Minutes of the Community Investment Program Approval Committee Special Meeting held on June 3, 2024, be approved as presented.

FOR (5): C. Beaver, M. Miniely, K. Owl, A. Seinen, and L. Wheeldon

ABSENT (4): E. Brewer, T. Cockerill, M. McQuilter, and M. Schmieding

CARRIED (5 to 0)

4. <u>New and Unfinished Business</u>

4.1 Membership term and recruitment

J. Fleury, Community Services, shared that with many Committee Members' terms expiring in December 2024, Administration reached out to Committee Members to inquire if they would be open to extending their terms. Most members are able to extend their terms which would ensure business continuity for the Committee.

With consensus of the Committee, Administration will bring forward for Council's consideration, an amendment to the Committees Bylaw 17/024 to change term start and end dates for the Community Investment Program Approval Committee.

4.2 Community Investment Program 2023 Outcomes

J. Fleury, Community Services, presented the draft 2023 Community Investment Program Annual Report. Committee Members shared feedback suggesting changes to the annual report before it is published.

4.3 Meeting Schedule

Administration suggested that the Community Investment Program Approval Committee amend its meeting schedule to include a summer recess break.

MOVER: K. Owl SECONDER: A. Seinen

THAT the Community Investment Program Approval Committee meeting schedule be amended to align with Council's summer recess period.

FOR (5): C. Beaver, M. Miniely, K. Owl, A. Seinen, and L. Wheeldon ABSENT (4): E. Brewer, T. Cockerill, M. McQuilter, and M. Schmieding

CARRIED (5 to 0)

5. <u>Move into Closed Session</u>

MOVER: L. Wheeldon SECONDER: K. Owl

THAT the Community Investment Program Approval Committee close item 6.1 to the public pursuant to section 24(1) of the *Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act* and move into a closed session at 6:40 p.m.

FOR (5): C. Beaver, M. Miniely, K. Owl, A. Seinen, and L. Wheeldon

ABSENT (4): E. Brewer, T. Cockerill, M. McQuilter, and M. Schmieding

CARRIED (5 to 0)

6. <u>Closed Session</u>

6.1 Advice from Officials - 2024-2025 Program Funding - Administration Update

(in camera pursuant to sections 24(1) of the *Freedom of Information and* Protection *of Privacy Act*)

The following persons were in Closed Session to provide information to the Committee:

D. Bergey, J. Fleury, Community Services, S. Syed, Legislative Services

7. <u>Return to Open Session</u>

MOVER: A. Seinen SECONDER: K. Owl

THAT the Community Investment Program Approval Committee move out of the Closed Session at 6:50 p.m.

FOR (5): C. Beaver, M. Miniely, K. Owl, A. Seinen, and L. Wheeldon

ABSENT (4): E. Brewer, T. Cockerill, M. McQuilter, and M. Schmieding

CARRIED (5 to 0)

8. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 6:53 p.m.

Chair